Youtube DUI Confessor gets lenient sentence after all

After claiming that he wasn’t going to have a “high-powered attorney” fight for him, Matthew Cordle did just that.

And his attorneys shaved off almost 25% of the probable sentence.

Cordle got 6 1/2 years, instead of the maximum 8 1/2, for the DUI death of Vincent Canzani.  I don’t know what they normally give in cases like that in Ohio, but in Illinois 6 and a half years for a DUI death case is a gift.

I anticipate that this will be my last post about this man.  But I just want to reiterate my position on him:  I don’t think he did anything special by admitting his guilt on a slickly produced video.  He knew he was about to be indicted and I believe that he made the confession with the intent of getting a better sentence.  And it worked.

I am left to wonder if he is going to try to use this to his advantage down the road, perhaps as an author and paid speaker.

Hopefully, he will prove me wrong.

My condolences to the Canzani family.

Leave a Reply

