Owner of Colorado Rockies arrested for DUI

From the Denver Post:

Charlie Monfort, co-owner of the Rockies, on Monday was arrested on suspicion of driving under the influence in Windsor, according to court records.

The 54-year-old Monfort was released Tuesday afternoon on a $2,500 bond. He is scheduled to be arraigned in Weld County court Nov. 19.

Monfort was also cited for driving 10-19 miles per hour over the speed limit, court records reveal.

Monfort, who lives in Greeley, has been the Rockies’ managing general partner since 1992.

“I’m extremely disappointed in myself for the decision I made to drink and drive and the potential risk I caused to other innocent people,” Monfort said in a statement released by the Rockies. “I want to apologize to my family, the Colorado Rockies staff, players, Major League Baseball and, of course, our fans for the embarrassment I have caused by my actions.

“I do understand the seriousness of my behavior and the issues that I am facing and I’m committed to do what’s necessary to deal with my problem.”

Mr. Monfort has a lot of company when it comes to Denver area sports DUIs.  Earlier this year, the Rockies’ Todd Helton was arrested for DUI, as were two Denver Broncos‘ executives.  A year ago, D.J. Williams (then of the the Broncos, now of the Bear’s injured list) was found guilty of driving while impaired.

Leave a Reply

