LaSalle County Judge arrested for DUI issues statement

Here is Judge Joseph Hettel’s statement, according to mywebtimes.com:

“I have had the honor and good fortune of serving as circuit judge for the last seven years,” he said. “It is a position that I cherish and a responsibility that I take very seriously. As a judge, I have an ethical responsibility to respect and comply with the law and to conduct myself at all times in a manner that promotes public confidence.

‘My arrest on Money night calls into question my compliance with those ethical obligations. As required under the circumstance, I have contacted the Illinois Judicial Inquiry Board and expect that they will begin an investigation.

“I sincerely apologize to the citizens of our judicial circuit, my colleagues on the bench, the lawyers who appear before me, my friends and supporters and, in particular, my family.

“I intend to comment further when my traffic case has concluded. Thank you.”

Judge Hettel will continue to hear civil cases while this matter is pending.  However, he has been removed from his rotation along with his fellow judges in Sunday and Holiday bond court, which would include DUI cases.

Leave a Reply

